.

Former Red Rooster Cafe Owner: "I Am Ready To Move On With My Life"

The debate over what lead to the closure of the restaurant on Gig Harbor's waterfront spilled into public view after Jamie Radcliffe announced she was closing Dec. 28.

Over the past two and a half weeks, the circumstances behind the closure of the Red Rooster Cafe in the Millville District on Gig Harbor's waterfront have been anything but clear.

Whether the story came from owner Jamie Radcliffe or Arabella's Landing Marina general manager John Moist - who was writing on behalf of owners Stan and Judy Stearns - the debate over what ultimately forced the closure spilled onto Patch discussion forums and Facebook pages.

Supporters of both sides accussed the other of wrongdoing, and at times, the discussion turned ugly.

Now, Radcliffe tells us, via those same Patch discussion forums, that she is ready to move on.

Responding to a user, Radcliffe wrote the following Monday night:

A. Terry... The following is a link for you (and the rest of the Patch community) to view if you choose to. I am ready to move on with my life. Please allow me to do so.

http://compassionandconsideration.blogspot.com

In her blog, which is called "What would Jesus do?," Radcliffe writes that, "the way the current situation was handled was, in my opinion, out of character for Mr. Stearns."

"I actually am very shocked as to the events that have taken place and also hoped that John Moist's accusations and dishonest statements would have turned out to be things Mr. Stearn's was unaware of."

Radcliffe insists that she is not vindictive or out to hurt anyone's business or credibility, but she says the way Moist describes how the situation was handled "was completely dishonest."

At the end of the post, Radcliffe pointed to her spiritual strength to get her through the ordeal. She also makes the following plea:

"I ask now for the people on the Patch page who are making very hurtful comments to please either make it be known who you are by giving your full name and photograph, or please put your accusations to rest," she wrote. "If you look at the facts, I am not saying anything other than the truth."

"I would do just about anything to wake and realize that this all was nothing more than a horrible dream."

So who do you believe, Patch users? Why has this been such a hot-button issue? Tell us in the comments below.

Jamie Radcliffe January 15, 2013 at 09:56 AM
Lets not leave out blog #1 in response to John Moist's article. This debate has gone too far. Patch profiles are also too easily created with no photo and the ability for a person to make up a fictional name. Thank you patch for not laying this debate to rest as I kindly requested. http://redroosterunplugged.blogspot.com/?m=1
Janet McConnell CS January 15, 2013 at 02:59 PM
Thanks Jammie for this blog and getting your side of the story out. What you have learned from this entire experience will strengthen you, and God will open the way for you to prosper and grow in grace. Although it may look like all is lost, God will restore all good to you. You are a very creative woman and you have infinite ideas to give you daily supplies. As you listen the right way will open up for you.
Elle G January 15, 2013 at 03:35 PM
I think everyone would have a better understanding of this issue if they just looked at how Stan acquired this property. Unhappy that Captain Pete sold it to the party that built the needed fuel dock in Gig Harbor. Stan sued them for years over things like the building being inches too high. After finally bankrupting the owner and leaving them with tremendous legal bills he bought it out of foreclosure. Check the record.
Jamie Radcliffe January 15, 2013 at 03:58 PM
Actually in my defense, that was based on my divorce and I was in fact NOT sued as it was immediately cleared up and paid.
Matt S. January 15, 2013 at 04:30 PM
I don't take sides on this matter as I do not have first hand facts. I do believe that a financial/collection action, in this day and US economy, by anyone, is NOT reason to claim that they have been "sued". Being a local CPA, dealing with personal finances on a daily basis, one would be shocked to know the actual numbers of their friends and neighbors who have had one bill or another end up in this same place. I would only wonder how many of Mary W.'s friends she would hang out to dry if she were to find out? Again, I am still at a loss as the the reasoning behind people's mud slinging, when they are not even part of the equation.
Joe Flach January 15, 2013 at 04:39 PM
I have no skin in this game and no reason to believe either side in this unfortunate arguement. I do, however, have an opinion on how this battle is taking place through social media. Once you decide to hang your dirty laundry out in public, you should not be surprised that people start yelling, "Hey, your laundry is dirty!" In all fairness, Jamie, you are not requesting that this debate be put to rest, you are requesting that you be allowed to have the last word. Now that the arguement is in the public domain, it will stay there until the public grows tired of it - not when the involved parties moan and cry that they have had enough. Once Pandora's box has been openned, there is no putting the lid back on. I hope both sides of this discussion can find closure in acceptable terms and that we, all of us, learn a little lesson on the risks of going public with our grievances. Sometimes, we must reap what we sow.
A January 15, 2013 at 04:49 PM
This story is like herpes, it just won't go away. Unfortunately, most people's opinions of this situation were formed in the first few days of this 'breaking news' (if you can even call it that). We will never know what really transpired, but it probably isn't the public's business to know anyway. Another restaurant bites the dust. It happens all the time and for many reasons. Good luck and good riddance.
A January 15, 2013 at 05:21 PM
Just out of curiosity, what difference does it make if they use their real name or not? Does it make their opinion any less true? Some people just aren't comfortable having their name out there on the Internet.
Jamie Radcliffe January 15, 2013 at 06:06 PM
Mary, Whoever you are. Nobody knows since you haven't posted your full name. I WAS NOT SUED. Thank you Matt for defending me. I'm sure no matter who's name (including the other people who are part of this mess) you looked up you might very possibly find "baggage" from the past that did not result in a law suit or "being sued". I TRULY do want this to be done with. However, the A. Terry's and the Mary W's continue to post whatever they can to attack me. Any response I have made in my blog is backed by original documents and photographs. I responded on the previous patch article asking once again for final closure due to comments made by a few people Who don't seem to have anything else to occupy their time with. My blog titled "Saying goodbye to the Red Rooster", was my request for putting an end to this debate. As long as unknown people who choose not to show their full name, photo, or identity continue to tear me down with false accusations, I will continue to defend myself. There is no winner in this situation. As a friend mentioned to me last night the building now has a for lease sign on it. I am now looking for a new career, and my family and I are moving past this very sad loss. To close I will say as I did in my blog post.... "Best wishes to the Stearns' family, As to whom ever becomes the new tenant of the building That my family and I once referred to as "the rooster". It is a wonderful spot that I loved with all of my heart.
Sabrina Garrison January 15, 2013 at 07:22 PM
Bree A. I am so tired of the self righteous Vultures that come out of the wood work and demand honesty. There words circle and circle our minds like the opportunist they are. I am certain that these Vulture's don't live in glass houses, as well as having their closets locked and barricaded so that no one can see their dirty laundry. I am tired of the Vultures getting involved in other peoples business whether the incident is created by themselves or another. These things usually turn out to be stepping stone for growth of the people involved. So, it comes down to: It really isn't anyone's business other than the people involved. And to the Vultures, you improve your world & everyone else by referring to the mirror in your own house. That alone will make the world a better place. Life is the journey, Bless your Journey.
Gloria Hazelrigg January 15, 2013 at 07:41 PM
How sad that the Gig Harbor Patch has become a duplicate of the National Inquirer. I tried the restaurant twice; once when it first opened, and a few months later to give it another chance. Neither time did I enjoy the food or the service, and did not expect it to survive.
Bill W. January 16, 2013 at 01:07 AM
I know Robert Philpott who built the Poseidon’s Fuel Dock and Deli and he had frivolous after frivolous lawsuits brought on him by Stan Sterns until he got tired of fighting and sold the property to Stan Stearns. Now the city has no fuel dock or deli! Stearns is not a nice person and hides behind his marina manager.
Brent Champaco January 16, 2013 at 07:11 AM
Hi all, I wanted to respond to a few commenters who questioned why Patch posted this follow-up story. It was my decision, and I felt that the closure was a topic that was generating a lot of discussion among users, so it deserved a follow. I actually intended, perhaps incorrectly, to bring some sense of closure to the debate with this story. Again, that might not be case, but I at least wanted to respond to some of the comments. If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to e-mail me: brent.champaco@patch.com
Vera S January 18, 2013 at 05:21 PM
Bill W. and Elle G. I have checked the 'record'. The issue was that the dock and the building were TOO LOW. There was a flood at the Red Rooster, not because it was too high, but because it was too low. And if a fuel dock with exposed electrical goes under water, well, lets all just thank our lucky stars that that fuel dock is no longer there. And fuel docks should NEVER be allowed to operate if they are going to go under water. The risks are too great. Does the city of Gig Harbor need fuel dock? Absolutely. But not at the expense of safety, local boat owners, and the environment.That fuel dock was VERY close to boaters on the Arabella/Bayview dock who barbeque on their boats. One spark, and BOOM! Stearns was protecting the boat owners in his marina, as well as the harbor itself. Remember that terrible fire that wiped out the covered moorage next door? Imagine if the fuel dock had been right there. The fuel dock was given to a local fisherman who had a better location, away from close proximity to marinas. He tried to jump through all the 'hoops' to get approval. But it was never approved. So Gig Harbor has no fuel dock. Check the the city council meeting minutes for February 2005.
Brenda F. January 18, 2013 at 05:31 PM
As long as there are wealthy and generous people, there will be people trying to take advantage, and spread ugly rumors, and believe ugly rumors. It's not popular to side with the wealthy, it's easier to just believe they are the villains. They have money, so they can't have hearts, right? That seems to be what many people are assuming. Before continuing to make accusations against Mr. Stearns, it would be wise for all of you up get your facts straight. The town of Gig Harbor, though beautiful, is much to blame for the demise of your precious fuel dock and deli, and it didn't help the Ref Rooster either with it's many restrictions. Everyone loves a villain, and our culture has taught us that the villain is always the rich guy. Maybe you should question that instead just believing the words of people who are clearly hurt and looking for someone to blame.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something